For Oscar nerds like me

Media_httpa1phobosapp_tkcbw

Late on March 7, where will you be? I will be glued to the laptop and TV in turns, watching Live from the Oscar red carpet and then the ceremony itself (live streaming permitting). For more than 10 years, I have watched the ceremony live, regardless of work schedule or time zone. Something about the ultimate Hollywood pageant obsesses me; for the last five years, I have held a competition to predict the winners.

This year, I’m hoping the competition will be bigger and flashier than ever, since those savvy marketing people at the Academy have come up with an iPhone app (what a way to combine two of my favourite leisure pursuits!). So, this year I can run my traditional competition via email, as well as a second one on Twitter, which pleases me greatly.

If you want to play along, you can follow me on Twitter (@kirstieh) – but be warned, there will be fashion commentary, and it might not always be polite.

Leave a Reply

